Friday 14 August 2015

London Lib Dems reveal Assembly shortlist

Those with connections to the more enterprising candidates may already have noticed this, but the party in London has released the shortlist of candidates to be London Assembly members in 2016.  Liberator understands this was due to a delay after one excluded candidate was reinstated on appeal.

The list is:
Adrian Hyyrylainen-Trett
Annabel Mullin
Ben Mathis
Brian Haley
Caroline Pidgeon
Dawn Barnes
Duwayne Brooks
Emily Davey
Marisha Ray
Mark Platt
Merlene Emmerson
Pauline Pearce
Rob Blackie
Stephen Knight
Teena Lashmore
Zack Polanski

It includes at least 6 candidates from a BAME background and the gender split is 50/50: two encouraging signs.  Most of the names will come as no surprise including the two incumbent AMs.

Notable by their absence are libertarians who have been making a lot of noise about policy in the London Assembly about the stance to the taxi business Uber. It will be interesting to see whether this becomes an issue.